Historical versions are automatically kept when saving any configuration change. Notes from designer users can be set to require the system to compel a user to describe the change that was being made. Historical versions can be viewed, compared to the current version, and even reverted to become the current version.
All changes to workflow, rules, forms, etc., can be audited for a long-term history of changes.
Upon saving any configuration, unit tests can be conducted to protect elements against breaking changes.
All configurations can have a specified owner. If changes are made by someone other than the owner, the owner is notified of the change.
‘Decisions’ has a full configuration repository server. This server functions as any version control system but is fully integrated into the design studio. Configurations can be checked by an assigned version number. It includes functionality for creating branches, tagging versions, etc.
Configurations can be exported and imported into servers to support multiple environment development cycles. Typically, customers might have one or more development environments, a quality assurance or staging environment, and a production environment. While using the ‘Decisions’ Repository makes this seamless, it can be done using other manual or automated processes.
The Decisions Platform maintains a matrix of relationships between all configuration elements (flows, forms, data structures, integrations, etc.), so the relationships and impact of changes can be understood.